When Mack was in Kindergarten we lived in a small town (pop. 8,000) that is about 3 1/2 hours from where we live now.  She developed a huge Kindergarten crush on a boy in her class named Robert.  All we heard about was Robert.  When I asked her what she did at school she told me what Robert did.  When I asked her what her favorite part of the day was, it always included Robert.  If I tried to steer the conversation to other things she would always steer it back to Robert.  Robert was a big deal to my five-year-old daughter.

Tragedy of all tragedies, we moved from that town and Robert had to be forgotten.  Then, yesterday while I was reading the newspaper, I saw that the sports section was listing the state all-star teams for basketball.  I was scanning the pictures and names and happened to see a Robert listed from that small town.  I never knew Robert’s last name, but wondered if the Robert pictured could be the famous Kindergarten Robert. 

When I went to pick up my girls from school I took the sports section with me.  When Mack got into the backseat of the car I said, “Do you remember Robert from Kindergarten?”

Mack looked at me through the rearview mirror and said, “Yeah.”

“Well,” I said, handing her the paper, “see if that is him listed under the 3-A all-star team.”

Mack skimmed the paper and suddenly started squealing and laughing at the same time (something teen girls are very good at).  “That’s him!  That’s him!” she screamed.  “My Kindergarten crush!”

Hoob and I started laughing.  Mack’s reaction was so funny.

“I’m going to use this in my Senior Odyssey report!” said Mack.  “Thanks, Mommy!”

So glad I could help.  🙂

