Back on June 11, 2008 I wrote a post about gift ideas for graduates.  I was focusing on high school graduates because that is the season of life we are in right now.  We are half way through our six-in-a-row high school graduations.  As my daughter, Huh, decided to give campus life a try, I was trying to figure out what to give her for Christmas that would be most helpful to a college student.  Because she was moving 12 hours away from me to a city she is unfamiliar with, I hit upon the idea of giving her a GPS unit for Christmas. 

It turns out that a GPS unit was a great idea!  Not only did it help the two of us navigate to her new home, it helped us find other important places.   She needed a new windshield wiper blade.  Not a problem.  She used the GPS to list nearby auto parts stores and then chose one to navigate to.  She needed a grocery store.  Not a problem.  Again she used the GPS to locate nearby grocery stores.  When the two of us were craving Vietnamese food, the GPS unit came to the rescue by showing us several restaurants to choose from.

Although it was hard getting on a plane and leaving my daughter there, I was at least comforted that she will be able to find her way around her new city.  So, I add one more idea to my graduate gift idea list…

…a GPS unit…

…and a hug.

