Hoob loves to watch baking shows on t.v.  Sometimes Yawlin will watch with her.  Watching one must have given Yawlin the desire to try some baking on his own.  He came to me and asked me if he could bake something.  I gave him permission as long as he cleaned up the mess.  He assured me he would. 

I thought Yawlin was going to use a boxed mix to make brownies or a cake, or even cupcakes, one of his favorites.  But no, Yawlin thought up, on his own, a recipe for brownies.  He even wrote it down.  He was halfway through making his recipe before he showed me the two pieces of scratch paper that he had scrawled the recipe on.  I let him continue since he had already started.  Besides, it is a great learning experience to see what works and what doesn’t. 

Here is Yawlin’s recipe (I’ve left the spelling as he wrote it):

2 1/2 cups flour

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup water

1 tablespoon vanilla

1/4 cup oil

3-4 eggs

2-3 tablespoons coco

1/2 tablespoon baking powder

coco chipe (opsonal)

Stir with wisk.  Add 1/2 cup water if needed.  Put in fridge for 30 min.  Preheat oven to 350.  Stir after 30 minutes in fridge.  Cook for 45-50 min.

The house smelled like brownies were baking.  The middle of the brownies puffed up over the top of the baking dish.  The edges were pretty dry.  And the taste?  The texture?  Well…there wasn’t much flavor, actually.  And the texture was a bit dry, but they didn’t taste horrible, which is what I had feared.  The dog has liked the pieces that have been secretly slipped to him. 

Yawlin considers the brownies a success and even posted so on Facebook. 

My next step as a mom?  Encourage more exploration in the kitchen!

