I like to think that we are a normal family…

*Mack misplaced her cell phone.  After looking all over the house she asked Hoob to call the phone to see if she could find it.  Being the dutiful sister that she is, Hoob dialed Mack’s number and waited for an answer.  Mack left the room listening for the phone.  Pretty soon Hoob heard Mack say, “Hello.”

“Did you find your phone?” asked Hoob.

“No.” Mack’s voice was dripping with sarcasm.

“Oh.  Ha ha!  Stupid question!”

Ya, Hoob is a bit of a dork.

*When it comes to his hair, it would appear that Shroom can be talked into anything.  First it was bananas and honey.  And then, earlier this week, it was a very bad mohawk.  Shroom’s friend wanted to cut his hair and so Shroom let him.  It was quite uneven in places.  He endured quite a bit of teasing from all of us–and then he went to a salon and got it fixed.   

Another dork.

*I was in my bedroom folding laundry one evening when a high-pitched scream came from Yawlin’s room.  Hoob, who had been standing in the hall, opened his door to see what was wrong.  Soon Hoob came to my room and said, “Mom,” she gestured toward the door, “your son.”

Yawlin followed her into the room holding a book.  He moaned and then started crying.

He looked fine to me, so I just asked, “What’s wrong?”

Yawlin showed me his copy of Monster War (Book 3 in the Nightmare Academy series), threw his head back and started crying harder.  I looked at Hoob who just shrugged her shoulders.  Yawlin opened the book and pointed to the last paragraph on the page.  “This is what’s wrong!” he said.

I read:  “Dozens of the snaky-headed monsters hissed from the dark depths of the Gorgon Maze near the mansion of the Hags; and, before anyone could react, Charlie Benjamin was turned to stone.”

“Charlie Benjamin was turned to stone!” wailed Yawlin.

Hoob and I looked at each other with big eyes.  “Well,” I said, trying to be soothing, “it looks like you still have half of the book to read.  I’m sure Charlie Benjamin will be turned back to normal before it ends.”

“You don’t understand!” cried Yawlin as he walked from the room, “He’s the only one who can kill the Fifth!”

Oh.

That 11-year-old really gets into his books! 

********

Earlier this month I polled our family to see what they were thankful for that day.  I sent Squid an email asking the same question, knowing that he might not get around to answering the question because he is so busy while he serves a mission for our church in Uruguay.  On Monday, in his weekly email home, Squid answered the question:  “So Kweenmama, something I am thankful for this year, since Thanksgiving is on the way, is our God and King.  I am so thankful to be able to witness His love for the people here in Uruguay first hand.  It makes me so happy that he loves these people even more than I do, and it humbles me every time I hear the investigators say that they received an answer to their prayers asking about the Book of Mormon.  It humbles me and shows me how insignificant I am, but at the same time I rejoice to know that I can help these people here in some small way.  This mission is the best thing I’ve done with my life, more than any football state championship, more than any sweet downhill mountain biking trail or any sweet snow resort.  I love God because He first loved us and everyone here.  And He loves us perfectly.  I testify of that.  I also love Him for sending me down here with the families that he did.  I love each and every one of you guys.  I also love him for sending down and sacrificing His only begotten Son, my Savior, Redeemer, Captain and King, Jesus Christ, of whom I am eternally indebted to.  That is what I am grateful for this year.

Yes, that was a great way to start the week!

