Hoob got into my car today after school and said, “Mom, today was not a very good day.”

“Oh?  Why not?”

“I kept spacing off in math, so I’m pretty sure I’m not going to understand how to do the assignment, and in Biology we did a lab.  During the lab I broke two beakers.”

“Two?”

“Yeah.  The first time I accidentally hit Shayna’s hand while she was washing it which made her drop it in the sink and it broke.”

“What did you two do?”

“We laughed and picked up the pieces.  Then right after that I was grabbing a new beaker and I moved too fast and it slipped out of my hand and hit the wall and broke.”

“Uh oh.  What did Mr. Ditman say?”

“He just said, ‘Beakers break.'”

“That’s it?”

“Yup.”

And so my daughter learned a truth today.  Beakers break.

Tires go flat.

Batteries die.

Flowers wilt.

Computers crash.

Stuff happens.

And none of it is worth getting upset about.

Laugh, pick up the pieces, and grab another beaker.

