Ever since she got a part-time job, Mack has been careful with her money.  She has a checking account and a savings account and makes sure to deposit into both accounts when she gets paid.  She monitors her accounts faithfully and really seems to enjoy seeing her savings grow. 

Last week, after getting paid, Mack went to the bank to deposit her check.  As usual, she deposited some in checking and some in savings.  On Saturday night Mack called me over to the computer where she was monitoring her account and asked me to take a look at it.  She had discovered a discrepancy on what should have been deposited and what was showing on the screen.  In her words she had been “cheated out of half” of her paycheck.

Fortunately, she still had the deposit receipts for both accounts so I told her to check the accounts online one more time on Monday (today) and if it still didn’t match she should take the receipts into the branch where she made the deposits and work to get it resolved.  This morning she came to me and asked if we could go to the bank.  “Are you sure you want me to go with you?  Or do you want to try to do this on your own?”  I asked.

Sitting on my bed she tucked some of her hair into her headband and said, “I’m feeling adult.  I’ll go by myself and get it taken care of.”  And with that she borrowed my car and off she went.

I love to see my kids develop some independence from me as they “grow up.”  Here are some other instances that maybe my kids are feeling adult: 

*It is our policy in our house that once a kid leaves middle school he/she begins to do their own laundry.  Today Hoob, who just completed 9th grade last week, came to my room to inform me that she had a load of laundry going in the washing machine.  On her own, without a reminder from me, she has taken on the task of doing her own laundry.  How very adult of her!

*As Huh was getting ready for work this morning I reminded her that she is on meals this week and asked if she wanted to do the entire dinner for tonight.  She readily agreed and has decided to make a pasta salad, rolls, and cook up the left-over chicken and beef from the kabobs we grilled last night.  This is an easy thing for her to do right now as she takes a month-long break from her online college courses.  I appreciated her adult response to my request. 

*Later this month Hub and I will be going to St. Maarten to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary.  We are leaving Huh in charge of the other kids as we go.  This is the first time they have been left on their own when we have gone out of town.  We used to be able to leave the kids with their other parents, but my ex has moved out of state, and Hub’s ex will also be out of the country at the same time we will be.  We are confident that Huh, at age 19, and Juju, at age 18, can handle things.  After all, legally, they are now considered adults.

*Shroom will be doing hard labor on a ranch for part of the summer.  A great opportunity for him to learn the value of hard work!

*Yawlin has learned how to set up a tent in the backyard, and now that the weather has finally warmed up, likes to sleep in it.

And right now?  I’m feeling so adult that I guess I’d better go get the rugs vacuumed, my own laundry done, the computer room dusted, and do some grocery shopping!

****My usual blogging schedule is to post on Mondays and Thursdays (although that doesn’t always happen).  This week I leave on Thursday with 45 youth and adults from my church to go to a three-day youth conference at a Jr. College 2 1/2 hours south of here.  I may not get around to posting for a few days, but hope to get back to my regular schedule soon!

