Ever notice how much food can be an extra part of family life?  Examples:

*We were in Moab over Mother’s Day weekend.  Because we had renters from Tennessee coming to our condo later Sunday afternoon, our morning consisted of church and then packing/cleaning up to be out by 11:00  so that the cleaning people would have time to get the condo ready.  I didn’t get my traditional “breakfast in bed.”  Once we were home Hub and the kids secretly started making me breakfast–for dinner.  When I innocently walked near the kitchen Yawlin said, “Oh, hi Mommy!”  as a warning to the others that I was there. 

Hub immediately grabbed my elbow and with a smile said, “You need to go sit on our bed for a while.”  I was a good wife and did what I was told.  I was treated to a dinner/breakfast of scrambled eggs, bacon, toast, fresh blackberries and strawberries, and orange juice–all in bed.   Hoob even brought me the Sunday paper to read while I ate.  🙂

*One day last week Mack’s history class decided they were hungry.  Mack called Hub on her cell phone and asked him to bring three pizzas to the school.  And he did it.

Notice she called her stepdad to do it, not her mom.  She knows that she would have gotten the third degree from me about why I would need to bring three pizzas to the school.

Apparently the class and teacher were all very grateful that Hub did Mack’s bidding.  🙂

*On the same day Hub was delivering pizza to a highschool history class, I was volunteering in Yawlin’s class.  Yawlin quietly came to my side and whispered, “Mom, can you bring me a cold lunch today?”

“I don’t know if I will have time today, Yawlin.  After this I have a lot of prep work to do for the next art lesson that I teach.”

Yawlin’s eyes filled with tears.  “Okay.”

“What’s wrong?”  I whispered. 

“I don’t like what is for lunch today.  I tried calling your phone while you were at your crossing, but you must have been turning off the lights cuz you didn’t answer.”

“I see.  Well, I’ll have to see what I can do, but no promises, okay?”

The tears were still there.  “I already told the teacher ‘cold lunch’ for the lunch count.  If you can’t bring me a lunch, I won’t get to eat today.”

I looked at Yawlin.  Bummer of a problem.  “I planned my day around the prep work that needs to be done.  I planned on being at the school for quite a while.  I’m not sure if I will have time to run home and fix a lunch.  I will see what I can do.”  I hugged him and sent him back to his seat.

After finishing the work for his class I went to the workroom and began measuring and cutting construction paper for the art project.  This particular art project required a lot of paper and cutting.  I kept my eye on the clock as I worked, hoping to finish in time to fix Yawlin a lunch.  There was just too much that needed to be done.  I had an idea.  Just as it was time for Yawlin’s class to go to lunch I went to his classroom and told his teacher I was taking him for lunch.  She smiled and told him she would see him when he got back.

Yawlin came back to the workroom with me and helped me finish up the prep work.  With his help I was able to finish quicker than I would have otherwise.  The two of us then went to Wendy’s so I could buy him a kids meal of his choice and took it home so he could eat it there.  I ended up checking him back into school about 10 minutes later than his class returned from lunch, but he hadn’t missed much, and the two of us had a great time together.  Plus, I didn’t have “mom guilt” about my son going hungry at lunch.  🙂

*Since we live across the street from Hoob’s middle school, she usually brings a couple of friends home at lunch time. She fixes herself a lunch while her friends eat the lunches they brought from home.  This morning, before she left for school, she said, “How ’bout fixing me something for lunch today, Mom.”  The smile on her face told me she didn’t really expect me to do it.

The fact that she didn’t expect me to do it made me decide to really do it.  I was going to fix her mac-n-cheese but discovered we were out (a common happening in a house of teenagers) and settled for making Ramen noodles.  When Hoob walked in with her friends at lunch time I handed her a steaming bowl of noodles and she said, “You really did it?!  Thanks Mom!”  She gave me a hug, and I felt all sorts of Mommy joy.  🙂

*Huh has such a crazy work schedule that sometimes her home chores get put aside.  Yesterday when she got home from work she plopped down on her bed and was instantly asleep.  It is her week to help with meals.  I decided to let her sleep and fixed dinner on my own.  When she got up I proposed an idea I’d had while she slept.  “Since you didn’t help me fix dinner–yes, I let you sleep–how ’bout if you fix the dessert.  We will have it after Family Home Evening tonight.”  Hub had bought an insane number of apples in Moab and we needed to use them up, so I gave Huh the choice of making apple cobbler or an apple betty.  She chose to do the apple betty and did a darn good job of it.  She now has one more dessert “under her belt” that she knows how to make when she eventually leaves home.  🙂

*We are all in the process of helping Juju break her Dr. Pepper habit.  Whenever she mentions that she wants one someone in the family will tell her that her bones are rotting.  It usually works.  🙂

The food thing…somehow it brings family closer.  🙂

