I’ve often heard the saying, “If Mama ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy!”  I always took it in a humorous light and told my family it was their job to keep me happy or I would make their lives miserable.  Keep the mom happy and all will be well, peaceful, and joyful! 

Yesterday I heard a woman whom I admire state that she sees truth in the statement–but has turned it around as something she is responsible to do.  She has made a conscious decision to be the peacemaker in her home.  She knows that, as the mother in the home, she has the power to help her family members overcome any contention that arises.  She recognizes that if she is in a black mood, it affects the rest of her family and has decided that she will make an effort to keep her mood upbeat and calm.  She says that making the decision to be the peacemaker has made quite a difference in her home.

It got me thinking.  My mood is my choice.  If I’m walking around crabby, it is going to make everyone else crabby.  If I am feeling lighthearted and act accordingly, it is going to affect my family members in a similar way.  I can choose the mood felt in our home.  “If Mama ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy” is true.  And then whose fault is it????  Mama’s!

Choose to set the tone in your home!

