On Wednesday night I felt the lump for the first time.  On Thursday I called my doctor.  Today, my birthday, I go see my doctor…just to make sure…just to be safe.

I have done some research online, and from what I’ve read, I am pretty sure that what I have is simply a cyst.  I don’t think I have much to worry about.  I even told the nurse on the phone that I think it is a cyst, but would see the doctor if it is something he would want me to come in for.  She said that, yes, he would want me to come in…just to make sure…just to be safe. 

After the initial exam, the doctor may decide to order a mammogram.  Since women are advised to have yearly mammograms starting at age 40, I guess it is time I had one.  I’m two years overdue (I’ve been happy in my denial that I’m in my forties! 🙂 ).  THIS is NOT what I wanted to be doing on my birthday!  But, after all the weird health problems I had over the summer, I am convinced that you can never be too careful when it comes to your health.

I am just going to make sure Hub gives me two pieces of birthday cake tonight.

I deserve it.

