I have been quite busy lately.  No time for blogging.  Here I share a quick recipe that I made for my mom’s family dinner on Sunday.  It was easy and delicious.  No left-overs!  And my brother-in-law was happy that the red he saw in the salad was slices of strawberries, not tomatoes.  He wouldn’t have tried it if there had been tomatoes in it.  Hopefully I can get back to a regular blogging schedule soon.

Crunchy Romaine Strawberry Salad

1 pkg (3 oz.) ramen noodles
1 c. chopped walnuts
1/4 c. butter
1/4 c. vegetable oil
1/4 c. sugar
2 T. red-wine vinegar (I substituted apple cider vinegar)
1/2 tsp. soy sauce
8 c. torn romaine lettuce
1/2 c. chopped green onions
2 c. fresh strawberries, sliced

Discard seasoning packet from ramen noodles or save for another use. Break noodles into small pieces. In a skillet, sauté noodles and walnuts in butter until golden; cool.

For dressing, in a jar with a tight-fitting lid, combine the oil, sugar, vinegar, and soy sauce; shake well. Just before serving, combine the romaine, onions, strawberries, and noodle mixture in a large bowl. Drizzle with dressing and toss gently. Serves 12.  (This recipe is found on pg. 148 of “Taste of Home Simple and Delicious Cookbook”)

Enjoy!

