Three things about yesterday that I am very satisfied about:

*Mack’s boyfriend, SkiShop, said to Hub, “I’m a little afraid of Kweenmama.  I’m not going to lie.”  😀  Yes, yes yes!!!  I’m perfectly fine having any boy who wants to date one of my daughters be a little afraid of me.  I laughed out loud when I heard it.  I asked Mack about it later and she confirmed that SkiShop says he’s a little afraid of me and that I intimidate him.  Good.   I am quite satisfied with that little bit of knowledge.  As long as he treats my daughter right, he will have nothing to worry about.

*Yawlin didn’t get to participate in either farewell yesterday, or the gathering at the house afterward, because he was sick.  I left him with his dad so that he wouldn’t get anyone else sick.  It was a good thing though.  Yawlin got to have some rare one-on-one time with his dad.  They played some games together and watched some tv.  Later on, after Yawlin had returned home, the visitors had left, and everything had been cleaned up, I sat down with the newspaper for some much needed relaxation.  Yawlin must have still been in “game mode.”  He asked me if I would play a game with him.  As tired as I was, I knew the newspaper could wait.  One of the most important things you can do as a parent is to make time for your kids.  Yawlin and I played two rousing games of “Sorry” and he kicked my butt both times.  He was happy.  I was happy.  Yawlin won’t ever be able to say that the newspaper was more important to Mommy than him.  Satisfying.

*We decided it would be more convenient with certain schedules to do our family portrait last night instead of tonight, which was the original plan.  Hub’s brother took our engagement pictures and family portraits 4 1/2 years ago, and he did it again for us last night.  Since Squid is leaving for a two year mission for our church, it was essential we get the pictures done so that we could have an updated picture of us to display in our home.  Otherwise, our current picture would have been 6 1/2 years old by the time we could all sit for a picture again.  It is very satisfying that we were able to get it done last night.  Here is one of the shots:

 

Gotta keep us anonymous for the blog, ya know!

Gotta keep us anonymous for the blog, ya know!

My daughter’s boyfriend is afraid of me, I played a game with my son, and we got our family pictures taken.  Yup, satisfying!

