Last Monday, in a post, I challenged myself to pay attention to the adventures and surprises each day brings.  All week I made sure to notice the good things in each day, and I even tried to create a few “adventures” of my own.  At the end of each day I wrote down the things I’d noticed.  Here are the weeks results, one favorite from each day:

Monday– It is a birthday tradition in our family for everyone to buy one gift from the dollar store for the person celebrating the birthday and then we present the gifts together in the evening when we gather as a family.  We were a few days late doing this tradition for Squid’s 19th birthday (busy schedules, ya know!), but on Monday we were ready.  Hub built a fire in the patio fire pit and we gathered to present our gifts to Squid and tell him exactly why we’d chosen the gifts we had.  Unknown to each other, Shroom and I had each chosen to get Squid some “masculine” body wash.  Squid immediately turned the situation into a “smell” test to see which body wash smelled better.  We all took turns closing our eyes while he held each bottle to our nose and we decided which scent we liked the best.  Huh’s and Mack’s boyfriends, who always seem to be at the house now, also got the chance to take the “test.”  The body wash that Shroom got won, but it was close!

Tuesday– Tuesday is garbage day in our neighborhood.  The cans were already sitting at the curb when I used the last little bit of laundry detergent and walked out the front door to throw the detergent jug away.  Seeing Yawlin standing on the sidewalk I said, “Hey, Yawlin, will you throw this away for me?”  Yawlin started to walk toward me and then I had a better idea. 

“Never mind.  Go open the lid to the green recycle can for me.”  Yawlin got a puzzled look on his face but did as he was told.  “I’m going to see if I can throw this jug into the can from here.”

Yawlin grinned and waited.  I hammed it up.  I bent my knees slightly, took careful aim, and launched the detergent jug into the air.  It flew over the recycling can into the street.  Yawlin laughed and went to retrieve the jug.  “Nice try, Mom.”

Before he could throw it away I said, “Wait.  Bring it to me.  I’m going to try again.”  Yawlin ran the jug up the lawn to me on the porch and I tried again.  And again.  And again.  Each time Yawlin brought the jug back to me he told me that I would for sure get it into the can the next time.  I came so close a few times, hitting the edge of the can before it bounced wildly into the street.

On my last try, out of the corner of my eye, I saw my next-door neighbor come out on her porch.  I was in mid-swing but decided to continue.  I launched the jug…it sailed in a perfect curve…and landed in the bin without touching a side.  Yawlin and I both cheered.  My neighbor?  She simply went back into her house.  Sometimes I wonder what those particular neighbors think of our family.

Wednesday – I got to sit and visit with my parents for awhile after I returned a book and movie that I’d borrowed from them.

Thursday – This is the day Huh had her ovarian cyst removed.  Most of the day was spent at the MASSIVE new hospital in a neighboring city.  I spent the time quietly waiting and reading.  After Huh was released is when the real rushing of the day began.  I got Huh home and set up on the couch where Mack had made a “bed” for her, then began the whirlwind–

–Told Yawlin he had soccer practice with his new team–

–Yawlin informed me that last year’s cleats are now too small for him–

–Told Yawlin to get in the car and we would see if we could get soccer cleats for him after dropping off Huh’s prescription request–

–Waited forever at the pharmacy while the lady in front of me in line asked the pharmacist a gazillion quesions–

–Finally turned in prescription request–

–While leaving the pharmacy I glanced at my watch and told Yawlin we no longer had time to find him some cleats.  Would his sneakers do for today?  Yawlin said they would–

–Rushed home so Yawlin could switch from flip-flops to sneakers and grab a water bottle–

–Drove 15 minutes to soccer practice–

–Dropped Yawlin off at soccer practice–

–Drove 15 minutes back to pharmacy to pick up Huh’s prescription–

–Drove home.  Gave Huh her pain medication–

–Drove 15 minutes back to soccer practice–

–Brought Yawlin home from soccer practice–

–Found out kids’ father (the ex) wasn’t going to be picking them up for their Thursday night visit–

–Drove for take-out Italian to feed the kids, since they wouldn’t be eating with their father–

–Ate dinner together (except for Huh who didn’t want to eat anything)–

–Kept checking on Huh to make sure she was feeling okay–

–When it was bedtime, I fell into bed exhausted.

Friday– Yawlin and I went school shopping.  We were on the hunt for a pair of denim shorts for him.  We visited four different stores, but never did find a pair that fit him.  We did, however, find some great deals on other clothing items.  At one store he got five t-shirts for five bucks.  You can’t beat $1.00 t-shirts! 

While we were standing in the check-out line at one of the stores there was an older gentleman in line ahead of us.  The cashier asked him how he was doing.  His answer?  “Great!  But, I’m getting better.”

What an upbeat, fun attitude to have!

Saturday – This was our “off” weekend–the weekend all of the kids go stay with their other parent.  Hub and I went out for Sushi.

Sunday–  Because of a special dedicatory celebration for our church, we got the kids early from their other parents so that they could attend with us.  After the session we went home for dinner.  Hub had just finished fixing the meal when his kids were informed that their mother had fixed them a dinner.  They left and we sat staring at a whole lot of food.  Huh’s boyfriend, “Plumber,” was already at the house.  I told Mack to call her boyfriend, “SkiShop,” and see if he’d had dinner yet.  If he hadn’t, he could come help us eat some of the food.  SkiShop said he was pretty full from his dinner, but he would come over.  (Teenage boys always come for food!)

We’d finished eating and were standing in the kitchen talking when Mack got a text.  “SkiShop is here.  Everybody hide.”

We all looked at each other, not sure if she was serious.  “Hide!  He’s here.  It will be funny!’

There was a mad scramble as we all tried to find a hiding spot.  I ended up crammed in a corner with Huh and Plumber.  The poor dog’s herding instinct kicked in and he went nuts barking and running from hiding place to hiding place trying to keep track of all of us.  Mack sent a text to SkiShop telling him to just walk in.  We heard him try, but the door was locked.  Mack went to the door and led him into the kitchen.  SkiShop spotted Yawlin right away trying to hide by the game closet, but it was when he saw Hub crouched behind a couch that we heard, “What the–?”

We all emerged from our hiding spots laughing.  We told SkiShop that it was Mack’s idea to have us all hide from him.  “Is that why Max was barking like crazy?  I could here him from outside.”

We all told where we’d each been hiding and laughed at some of the places chosen.  We offered SkiShop the remains of our dinner (there was still plenty of food) and then visited for awhile.

So there you have it.  My week of adventure and surprise.  It’s not hard to find adventure if you look for it.  Heck, you can make adventure.  And the adventure can be as simple as listening to the crickets in the evening (something else I did on Monday). 

Look for the good.  Look for the positive.  You will find it.

