I love to travel.  I really do.  But, one thing I’ve noticed about myself is that I appreciate home a little more after returning from a trip.  Here are some of the things I appreciated after returning home from Hawaii this week:

*My washer and dryer.

*Not having to live out of a suitcase.  My clothes won’t be wrinkled.  I can find my razor when I need it.  I don’t have to worry about shampoo or facial cleanser  leaking all over my clothing.  I will no longer be stubbing my toe on the suitcase.

*Knowing where I am going when driving.  I won’t have to consult a map or ask for driving directions.  I can go back to ignoring freeway signs.

*Sleeping in my own bed and using the pillow that I love.  Good night’s sleep once again!

*Max greetings!  The dog was left behind this week when our family went in different directions.  The first home, and the first to receive an enthusiastic Max greeting, were Hub and Squid as they returned home from Moab at 3:00 a.m. Saturday morning.  Next came Shroom and Juju from their mother’s house later in the morning.  Hoob and Yawlin returned from my parents’ house Saturday afternoon.  Mack and I returned at 9:00 a.m. Monday, followed by Huh at 11:00 a.m. when the softball team’s flight finally landed.  Max was beside himself greeting his family (herd) as we each returned.  He jumps on us, runs a few circles, repeats jumping on us, and finally ends by giving us big sloppy kisses. 

*Knowing where a doctor is.  Mack returned from Hawaii with a urinary tract infection.  And Huh has started showing signs of either appendicitis or an ovarian cyst.  I took them both to the doctor this morning for diagnoses.  Thank heavens the symptoms waited until we got home!

*And the thing I most appreciated after returning from Hawaii??  Seeing my husband and other kids!  Hub brought Hoob and Yawlin with him to the airport to pick us up.  They all snuck up behind us and gave us big hugs.  It was the best welcome ever!  Like I said in an earlier post, I prefer when our family travels together.  I miss my family when we are scattered all over the planet.  I kept in touch via cell phone/texts, but it was nice to be back together again.

And now for a few lingering images from our trip:

Storm on the beach!

Storm on the beach!

 

What you do in Hawaii after losing softball games.

What you do in Hawaii after losing softball games.

 

Pearl Harbor

Pearl Harbor

Hawaii 223

 

It’s nice to be home.

