1.  I have learned of the existence of Transient Ischemic Attacks (TIAs).  TIAs are “warning” strokes or “mini” strokes that last less than 24 hours and leave no permanent damage.  They occur when a blood clot temporarily clogs an artery, and part of the brain doesn’t get the blood it needs.  The symptoms occur rapidly and last a relatively short time.  Most are less than 5 minutes.  The average is about 1 minute.

My doctor isn’t sure if I had a TIA or not.  He wants me to see a neurologist to rule out all possibilities.  It may be that the incident on Sunday (see my last post) was a one time thing and will never happen again, but he wants to be safe.  We are scheduled to leave on a road trip to Oregon on Friday morning.  The doc says it is okay for me to go, but to make sure I make an appointment with a neurologist as soon as we get back.  Oh joy. 

2.  I have learned that I can get a panicked reaction out of Mack when she texts me the question, “How was your doctor’s appointment?”  and I send a text back saying, “He says it was all your fault.”  🙂

3.  I have learned that hard taco shells can not be stored indefinitely.  Ick.  Ick.  Ick.

4.  I have learned that the $1.99 kites that I bought for the kids to fly on the beach in Oregon don’t have very long strings, so I will probably need to go buy more string.

5.  I have learned that if my hubby makes dinner one night, he might spill it on the bottom of the oven and forget to clean it up and then when I turn the oven on the next day to make cornbread the house will fill with smoke, thus setting off the smoke alarms.

Huh graduates tomorrow and then we leave at 4:00 a.m. to Oregon the next morning for a week.  I’m not sure how much posting I will get done.  I hope to keep to my regular MWF schedule, but no promises!

