A few images from our cabin trip this weekend:

One view along the new fence Dad built.

One view along the new fence Dad built.

 

The flag pole dad made out of a tree.

The flag pole dad made out of a tree.

 

Kids along the fence.

Kids along the fence.

 

It rained for most of the weekend, which meant that it was also chilly.  It’s been a long winter in the High Uinta Mountains, so the quaking aspens didn’t have leaves yet.  There were 23 people sharing one bathroom.  And yet with all of that, it was a great weekend!  Some of the highlights:

*Allowing Huh to drive the entire way to the cabin and then back again when the weekend was over…and we didn’t die

*Going with Mack on a drive in the Arctic Cat (side-by-side) while she drove.  Hoob, Yawlin, cousin “J”, and the dog rode in the back.  And…we didn’t die!

*Brushing Hoob’s and Huh’s hair one night after they’d taken showers to get the day’s grime off.  Thankfully my teen girls still like Mom to brush their hair–not style it, mind you–but brushing it is relaxing to them.

*Playing rounds of “Blink” with all of the kids, cousins, and my mom.  (Buy “Blink” wherever games are sold.  For 5 or 6 bucks it provides a lot of fun!)

*Watching my dad give “Yawlin” his first lesson on driving an atv.  And…they didn’t die!

*Sitting on the swing, closing my eyes, and just listening.  Birds, squirrels, buzzing bugs, more birds, all the sounds of the woods were there to relax me and help me enjoy the moment.

*Seeing two deer pass by the cabin.

*Roasting hot dogs and marshmallows over the fire.

*Finishing my library book.

*Listening to Mack recount the story of the two of us attending an aerobics class and yoga class together one day last week.  The classes kicked my butt and Mack loves to tell how funny I was as I tried to balance on the stupid, over-sized exercise ball but kept slipping off, and how it was nearly impossible for me to do some of the torture yoga moves.  My brother-in-law quipped that I probably looked like what Elaine from “Seinfeld” would have looked like taking an exercise class.  (Okay, maybe this was more of a low-light rather than a highlight.)  Sheesh!

*Taking a walk with Max, the dog.

Max going ahead.

Max going ahead.

Max Charging back to me after I pretended to run back the way we came.

Max Charging back to me after I pretended to run back the way we came.

Max running after Huh and Cousin "C" on the atv's after they passed us.

Max running after Huh and Cousin "C" on the atv's after they passed us.

*Getting to talk to Hub on the cell phone just before he and Squid bedded down for the night in Moab.  They chose a river run as their one-on-one trip together before Squid leaves on a mission for our church.  It was nice to talk to Hub one last time before they tackled the mighty Colorado River and no longer had cell phone service.

*The cousins got to spread out and sleep in the main room of the cabin.

Cousins NOT sleeping.

Cousins NOT sleeping.

*I got to hold and play with my two newest nieces, ages 9 months and 3 weeks.

*The kids were all willing to pitch in and help with meals, dishes, and clean-up.  And…they didn’t die!

*I got to be totally lax in the way I dressed.

My stylin' cabin footwear!

My stylin' cabin footwear!

There was time spent with family, time spent alone, there was laughing and playing, cooperation and visiting, birds and squirrels, sunsets, fire and hot dogs.  For me, it was the perfect cabin weekend!

