Hoob has a day off from school today.  I want to take advantage of that and spend time with her.  She wants to go get a haircut and try a totally new style.  I also have quite a few errands to run, so today’s post is a quick one.  Keeping with my desire to post pictures that could have  been posted with past posts, I am posting a few pictures of the interesting graveyard my sis, daughter, and I happened upon last summer and wrote about in this post

One view of the graveyard.

One view of the graveyard.

 

Another view.

Another view.

 

An individual grave.

An individual grave.

It was unlike any graveyard we had ever seen before.  When we spotted it at the side of the road we just had to turn around and go back.  We were amazed at how elaborately some of the graves were decorated.  We made sure we were respectful of the graves and didn’t touch anything, even when a grave looked neglected, like the one above.  It was a shared experience that the three of us still bring up in conversation occasionally.  I’m glad we took the time to stop at the graveyard and experience it, thus creating a memory.  Families need to be aware of such opportunities and take advantage of them.  Sometimes they are unexpected, but seize them when they come; the shared experience is worth it. 

I am also glad we had a camera with us to chronicle the experience.  Looking at the pictures makes the day come alive for us again, and it helped in explaining the experience to other family members.  Taking a camera along on outings can help preserve memories you might otherwise forget.  You never know when a unique photo op will come up.  When my kids were younger we went to visit my sister in Phoenix.  We saw what we called a “wilted palm tree” on the side of the road.  The tree literally looked like it had wilted.  It was bent completely over, with the top of the tree resting on the sidewalk.  We stopped and took a picture of the kids by the tree.  I loved that picture because it was so different.  Unfortunately, the picture was stored on the computer my ex took when our marriage ended.  Maybe I’ll ask him if he still has the picture and if he would be willing to email it to me.  If I ever get it I’ll post it on my blog.  

So many pictures can take me down memory lane–beautiful scenery, candid shots of my kids, family celebrations.  The ease of using digital camers makes preserving memories even easier.  I think that will be my entry in my gratitude journal today.  Digital cameras!  I am grateful for digital cameras!

I wonder if I should take my camera along while Hoob gets her hair cut.  Hmmmm, now there’s an idea!

