When I think of going on vacation I usually envision a tropical paradise with palm trees and beaches.  Since I live far away from any ocean, it’s to the ocean I want to go when I get to vacation.  Hub, on the other hand, doesn’t care if he ever sees another beach.  The beach simply isn’t “his thing.”  As a couple, we have learned to compromise on vacationing.  Sometimes it is my destination of choice.  Sometimes it is his.  When it comes right down to it, it doesn’t really matter where you vacation as long as you get to spend time together as a couple or as a family.  Building memories is what is important.

In keeping with my blogoversary goal to post pictures that could have been posted in past posts I am now going to post a few pictures from our anniversary trip to Moab, Utah last June.  Obviously there won’t be a palm tree or beach seen in any of the pictures.  But, we enjoyed being alone together and memories were made.  We had so much fun together that I wouldn’t have wanted to be anywhere else.

View of Moab from the Sunset Grill

View of Moab from the Sunset Grill

The first night there we ate at the Sunset Grill, a cute little restaurant that sits on a bluff above Moab.  The food was good, the conversation even better.  The next day we rented ATV’s and rode the Chicken Corner’s Trail.  We took along a picnic lunch and were on the trail most of the day.  I am hoping that the pictures I post won’t make us too identifiable (ax murderers, ya know!). 

Hub near one of the rock formations.

Hub near one of the rock formations.

Shall I jump into the Colorado River?

Shall I jump into the Colorado River?

On the way back from our picnic we stopped at Catacomb Rock to explore and take some pictures.  We have decided it is a place we definitely have to let the kids explore sometime.

One view from Catacomb Rock

One view from Catacomb Rock

 

Another view at Catacomb Rock

Another view at Catacomb Rock

The trip was wonderful, because, as I wrote in my post last summer, it helped to solidify my love for my husband.  Moab was his destination of choice, not mine.  But it is a place he visited often when he was growing up and is, therefore, a special place to him.  And now, it’s a special place to me too.

And, to end this post…one more picture of Hub…couples should learn to laugh together too, right?  If I don’t post ever again, you will know that Hub killed me for posting this pic.  🙂

No caption necessary

No caption necessary

