About a year ago I signed up to receive periodic newsletters from Jack Canfield via email.  One recent newsletter featured an article titled, “Acknowledge and Appreciate Yourself.”  The article advises the reader to remember and think about big and little accomplishments and states that many people underappreciate the minor things they do successfully every day.

Some examples of some subtle, minor successes might include having a deep conversation with your spouse, reconnecting with an estranged friend, spending quality time with your children, crossing items off of your to-do list, or learning something new.

So, with that in mind, here are my “minor” accomplishments on this Labor Day:

*(Last night) A rain storm came through.  While the kids were all getting ready for bed I invited them to join me on the front porch to watch the storm instead of going to bed.  Mack, Hoob, and Yawlin took me up on the invitation.  We cuddled in blankets, watched people running to their cars as they left a neighbor’s party, and made up funny reasons for cars to be passing our house that late at night.  I let the kids decide when they were ready to go back into the house and go to bed.

*After the kids were in bed I went back out on the porch to continue watching the storm which had gotten worse.  It was a time for me to reflect on my goals and to count my blessings.  It was perfect “me” time.

*Before my family awoke I was able to get some journaling and reading done.  I was also able to fix hard-boiled eggs and toast for breakfast and have it all sitting on the counter before the first family members stirred.

*I asked Yawlin to come with me as I took the dog for a walk.  While we walked we talked about what he wants to be when he grows up (he’s not sure), what he wants to plant in his garden when he has his own house (corn and cucumbers), what he wants for his birthday meals tomorrow (crepes for breakfast and lasagna for dinner) and various other things.  While we walked it started to pour rain again.  We were only half way home and so chose to run the rest of the way.  As we ran I heard him say, “It’s actually kind of fun being out here in the rain.”  We were soaked and laughing by the time we got home.

*In addition to walking (running) the dog I managed to do some stretching exercises and some spot exercises on my calves.

*I asked Mack to come with me while I shopped for a baby gift and picked up a few groceries.  I let her drive so that she could have the practice.  While shopping she showed me some shirts she thought were cute and I got to hear all about school.

*Because of the way chores fall this week Huh and Hoob “got” to help me make raspberry (zucchini) jam.  They actually thought the whole process was pretty cool.  Huh also helped me make chicken enchiladas for dinner.

*I spent some time with Hub as he showed me some of the work he has done on our website for a business we are trying to start.

*I got to meet a new guy pal of Huh’s.  I invited him to stay for dinner (which he did) and to participate in our Family Home Evening (which he also did).  Then he and Huh left to go participate in his family’s Family Home Evening.

*I managed to do a load of dishes, two loads of laundry, and some general house straightening.

Since I am passionate about my family and try to make them my focus I am feeling pretty good about my day.  I was able to spend time with each person that was here.  Hub’s kid are with their mother for the holiday so I didn’t get to spend time with them.  Another day.  Some may find my day rather boring, but I am happy with it.

Jack Canfield wrote, “These may seem like minor acts in the grand scheme of life, but they are what make us feel whole, happy, and accomplished along the journey…”

Amen.

