“You might as well eat lunch here,” said my Mom.  I had just finished playing games with my grandpa and walked next door to visit my parents.  Mom started pulling roast beef, mustard, and mayo from the fridge.  I grabbed bread from the pantry and started to make myself a sandwich.  Mom reached into the fridge and pulled out one more jar.

“Here, I want you to try this apricot jam.”

“But I’m having roast beef.”

“I know.  Just try a small bit on a spoon.”  Mom pulled a spoon from a drawer and dipped it into the jam and then held it out to me.

Mom had a funny look on her face.  I backed away.  “Why?  Is it rancid or something?  What’s wrong with it?”

“There’s nothing wrong with it.  Just try it.”

Still wary, I put the tip of the spoon in my mouth and tasted the jam.  “Tastes like apricot jam.”  I shrugged and added, “It’s good.”

Mom smiled.  “It’s zucchini.”

“What?”

“It’s zucchini.  There are no apricots in it.  It’s made from zucchini and apricot Jell-O.”

“No way!”

My aunt had given my mom some of the jam and the recipe.  The jam really did taste like apricot jam.  My mom and her sister plan to experiment and see if they can create a raspberry and a strawberry jam using the same recipe.  I was so impressed I asked for the recipe.  We have zucchini coming out of our ears at our house.  Our zucchini plants are too healthy.  I have made zucchini bread, chocolate zucchini cake, Zucchini Parmesan, and I’ve added zucchini to spaghetti sauce.  I’ve sliced and frozen some for future use in soups and sauces for the winter and I blended and froze still more of the continually producing veggie for winter breads and cakes.  I was excited when my mom showed me yet another way to use up zucchini, especially the monster zucchinis.  You know the ones, the monstrosities that grow when you forget to check your garden for a few days.  Just scoop out the seeds before you make the jam.

Since I recently shared some recipes, and some folks have mentioned that they also have an over-abundance of zucchini, I have decided to post the “apricot” jam recipe here.  I plan on making a few batches this week (after I get the safety and emissions on my car completed) and having my kids taste the wonderful homemade apricot jam.  I won’t tell them what it really is until after they have sampled it on a slice of bread or a roll.  I can’t wait to see their reactions!

**************************************

APRICOT (ZUCCHINI) JAM

6 c. finely grated and peeled zucchini 

1 8oz. can crushed pineapple that has been pureed in a blender

1/2 c. lemon juice

3 1/2 c. sugar

9 oz. apricot Jell-O (3 small boxes)

Put the zucchini in a pan with 2 c. water and bring to a boil.  Cook for 10 minutes.  Drain and puree in a blender.  In a pan put the pureed zucchini and the rest of the ingredients.  Boil for 10 minutes and pour into pint jars.  If you intend to store the jam longer than a year then process the jars for 15 minutes.  Makes 3 – 4 pints.

Enjoy!

