Because there were requests for me to provide the recipes of goodies mentioned in my last post I have decided to post the recipes here.  Disclosure:  The oatmeal chocolate chip cookies I made for my son’s first day of third grade came from a mix.  We had just returned from family vacation and the day was full of unpacking and laundry.  I only had time to make cookies from a mix.  So sue me!  🙂

APPLESAUCE CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

2 c. sugar                            1 c. shortening

2 c. applesauce                   2 eggs

2 tsp. baking soda              3 1/2 c. flour

2 tsp. nutmeg                     1 tsp. salt

2 tsp. cinnamon                 1 bag mini chocolate chips (my mom always uses the mini.  I like regular)

Cream the sugar and shortening.  Beat the eggs and add to creamed mixture.  Beat until smooth.  Add the baking soda to the applesauce and add to the mixture.  Add the dry ingredients.  Drop by spoonful onto greased cookie sheet.  Bake at 425 degrees for 8 or 9 minutes. 

CHOCOLATE ZUCCHINI CAKE    

Cream together:

1/2 c. margarine, 1/2 c. oil, 1 3/4 c. sugar (I got away with using only 1/4 c. oil–if you are trying to cut down on fats)

Add:

1 tsp. vanilla, 1/2 c. sour milk (for sour milk add 2 tsp. vinegar to 1/2 c. milk)

Sift and blend with creamed mixture:

2 1/2 c. flour, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 4 T. cocoa, 1/2 tsp. cloves, 1 tsp. baking soda, 1/2 tsp. salt

Stir in 2 c. finely diced or grated zucchini (my family has texture issues, so I always frappe my zucchini in the blender for this cake and for zucchini bread).  Pour into 9×13 pan and sprinkle with 1/2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips (I’m very generous with the chocolate chips–ain’t no half cup here!) and 1/4 c. chopped nuts (optional).  Bake at 325 degrees for 45 minutes (it depends on your oven, I end up baking mine 15 minutes longer).

The cake is one that can be played around with.  Though the majority of my family and kids’ friends liked the cake the way I made it, I had one daughter and one of my son’s friends say that they could taste the zucchini so they weren’t as fond of the cake as everyone else.  If you have members of your family who are “squash sensitive” and who swear they can taste even a teaspoon of zucchini in a recipe, then you may want to cut down on the amount of zucchini.

 Note:  These recipes aren’t fat free, which may seem a contradiction to the postings on my newest blog “Run the Cat,” but I figure first day celebrations are worth it.  I’m sure the recipes can be changed to be more healthy.

Enjoy! 

 

