Once again kids have given me something to think about.  After a few days of spring-like weather we were hit with another storm of mixed rain and snow yesterday.  It would seem that most adults here are tired of the cold weather, as evidenced by the comments being made by callers to the morning radio shows I was scanning.  

“I am sick of this weather!” 

“I am moving!” 

“Time for another SAD song of the day since the weather is so sad today.” 

I have to admit that I wasn’t happy to have to bundle up again in order to perform my crossing guard duties.  But, as I watched the kids at my crossing, I noticed something.  Not one kid was grumbling about the cold weather.  Not one kid was threatening to move.  They were back to wearing coats and hats, but instead of complaining about it, they were stomping slush piles and laughing.  I listened to snippets of their conversations as they passed by me. 

“We went to Ohio to visit my aunt.” 

“…But I like soccer camp, cuz…” 

“Let’s do the sleepover this weekend.” 

Two of the 6th graders assigned to Safety Patrol picked up their orange cones and, using them like megaphones, started to sing, “Happy birthday to Sammy!  Happy birthday to Sammy!”  Sammy, the girl who was celebrating her birthday, laughed and waved.

The kids at my crossing were not letting the weather get them down.  They were still focusing on the things that bring them joy.  Trips to see family.  Participation in sports.  Time with friends.  Birthdays.  So what if the weather was crappy?  That didn’t affect the things that mattered to them.  Did the weather really matter that much to the adults calling in to the radio shows?  Was it really going to affect their day that much?  Was it really such a bother for me to have to pull out my winter gear again to do my crossing?

Kids are masters at adapting.  I witnessed it again today as I did lunch recess duty at my son’s school.  Once a month it is my turn to wander the halls during lunch and make sure all students are where they are supposed to be.  The 5th grade had taken over the lunchroom for their State Report displays and so all students were eating lunch in their classrooms.  It didn’t appear that the teachers were overjoyed by this one-time change, but the kids were having a great time eating lunch and chattering away.  Such a simple thing as a change of scenery for lunch can be such fun for kids.

Can I adopt the same attitude?  Can I turn a perceived inconvenience into something fun?  Instead of grumbling, maybe I should stomp around in a few slush piles when the weather turns nasty.  When something occurs to mess up my carefully planned schedule, maybe I should just smile and chatter away.  Sometimes as adults we get too caught up in little things that truly don’t matter.  Watching kids this week has given me something to think about.  I need to roll with the punches.  I need to weather the weather.  

